Cab Driver Wages~ on a shoestring

cropped-yo-taxi.jpg

Cab Driver Wages on a shoestring

Well I know that I will get a lot of feed back from this, and I know that the truth hurts at times. I also know that when people like me; people that have lived day by day; it is way hard to see the other side; but I am telling you this; stop and smell the roses!
You and I know how much a lease/ gate/nut (cash) is per day and weekends, but let’s say it $125.00 / 7 days a week or $875, 00 per week and it don’t take a rocket scientist to figure out that that’s about $3,500.00 – $4,000.00 per 4 week work month. But wait that’s for a 12 hour shift, so the owner gets another $4,000.00 for the other shift. The total for the month is $8,000.00 per month. Are you taken home that kind of money come on be honest, this is almost theft the way I look at it!
What do you think it takes to (outfit the car?) If you want to look on e-bay, Craig list and or other places you will find a meter is about $225.00 new, online used, $100.00 bucks, top sign is about $100.00 and that a is nice one! The larger a frame type roof signs are about $350.00. You can get a nice sign lettering job for about $300.00 installed from any sign company, well most sign companies.
So you have a smart phone get smart, perhaps you can find another driver and team up. I see there adds in every city. Yes I know about insurance; bonding; city and state licenses; permits and police inspections; they are all chimp change, and no big deal. Did I forget any thing, yes the little problem of the medallion. The $one million dollar retirement, real deal plan. Well I am sure that something could be worked out between the two of you.
They most likely have a (bank) payment to make also. Just my thoughts for what it is worth. I think that the medallion loans alone would put a lot of banks out of business, if a or when a problem comes up.
Problems like 52% of the United States out of work.
Problems like 48% of the United States are working to pay benefits to those not working.
Problems like the few large companies shutting down.
Problems like people buying food and shelter, and screw cabs we will walk.
Problems like New York (could) in my head flip 180 degrees in a day.
Problems like I don’t know how many cabs are in New York, 30,000? I don’t really care, as long as there is one left for me any way.
Problems of the cab drivers not getting the cream loads, and moving in to drive the for hire cars, where most clients are nice, polite, and tip big. Where they have perhaps, just maybe a little nicer boss, as there boss is a happy boss over cash flow.
Lets say the cab company of the future uses all the $60 Million start up or what ever cash they had for start up expense on their building these cab cars: or cab of the future cars goes broke, what will replace them? Yes you are right Black Tops top of the line premium car service, the transportation of the future.
So I am thinking what genius scam idea the power of beings will decide on next. I mean you won’t be able to get any car parts, for one they will end up being like the checker taxi cab ended up being, a want to be front yard giant flower pot!
What do you think a medallion will be worth at that point? Some future security plan that is turning in to.
Problems like towns with medallions that have total distress from factories closing; weather Problems like; flooding; acts of god. Look if people are broke; don’t have a job any more; for whatever reason, they don’t take taxi cabs. Period, they walk or find friends to share a ride free.
Cars online on e-bay and other sources I use look New York and all big cities have lots of town cars for sale. They have lots of Lincolns driving past, fares won’t know that you are driving a 1999 or newer; it is all in appearance and attitude. 1999 cars don’t cost much to get you going. You can get something going, talk to people, talk to the for hire owners just perhaps they want there cars out there also, if you are honest, maybe there will lease to own the car to you. Get busy people are not going to come to you, so get on the phone make some contacts, call some limo people and see what they have for sale, call some winery’s and see if they know of any limos or blacktop cars for sale good but cheap. But I know you can get a better deal that what you have going on now; trust me! Start you own company; just do it; stop giving your cash away!
Let me know what you feel about your own town car service, or for Hire Company, and more money!
“Thank you, everyone for reading my blog. I do hope you find something useful. I hope you find the rush in driving a taxi cab as I have, I know you will learn, but most have the rush. That’s why we are here, shift after shift. If I have written something that offends you, I am sorry, it is the way I feel about things! Enjoy your visit ~ enjoy your day ~ enjoy life. I am trying hard to get it all that is written disjointed, jointed. I hope you make great tips on your shifts day and / or nights!
sparky@taxicabtips.com
The for hire flat rate cars, blacktops and town cars in this sitting are all over it, almost!
They most likely, are taking care of the doorman, I would take car of the doorman only in a different way, I will tell you how when I get these thoughts out of my mind.
That in each case the for hire black tops are very clean inside and out.
That the drives are very clean inside and out.
That they open the doors for there clients.
That they transfer there luggage away for them at both ends, perhaps even taking it into the motel, hotel, and transfers it to the bellhop/door person.
Taxi Cab Drivers
They are in line at least 100 feet in front of the for hires and are sleeping, reading, eating, smoking, emailing me bitching me out, or what ever cabby’s do as they wait for there fares, wait for there fares, for what to open there own door of your cab themselves and sit down and say hi driver take me a long ways, I tip well. Forget it get off your ass and do something,
Park in there spot or better park in front of the front door walk up to the door person and shake there hand, slide them a ten spot and see what happens, if you really think nothing than you need to go tomorrow and apply for a job delivering pizzas, hell you may make more and you may lose some weight, unless you pull up to there house and don’t get out but just honk your horn or call them and say hi I have your pizza in my car outside at the curb send some one out to get it..
At some point in there life, taxi drivers need to get there act together and say to themselves and other taxi drivers, this is a job, this is a job, how can I scream this to you! How you work at your job is the (salary you choose), the cash you get. Like church you make an offering and god blesses you. If you go to church and nod off and on, you most likely won’t be having much of an output in your life any where.
All you have to do and like other jobs dream how happy you were on your first day of you new job as a Taxi Driver, and now perhaps even years later, you fall into a rut, and ruts are hard to break, extremely hard, but I know you can do it I will show you a few steps to take to make that happen, when I get back on here.
That being said I will tell you about how, I would take care of the doorman only in a different way and if you would listen perhaps today or soon you will have more fares, laugh about what you just did, crap like that, and do be able to defend your self, this is not a game here, this is a job your job and you have to understand as they do for sure, that they are costing you money, lots of money!

So what the crap are you doing sitting three (3) up taxi zone, your not!
You are six (6) up in front of a motel.
What makes you any better than the rest?
What makes you stand out?
Why would you even think about sitting there?
Here is what I would do fast, wear real clean clothes and put a big ass smile on my face, I would than do a drive by and look for the busiest motel, Park around the corner and go in side by a side door only. I would buy two cups of espresso coffee black; come on black is not going to hurt you once. I would walk up to the front door person from the inside only and tell s/he this, LISTEN NOW, damn it I am trying to help you here, tell s/he then, these word, Hi how are you tonight, listen My name is Sparky and I drive a taxi, I just seen you and you looked like you could use a cup of coffee, you don’t give a crap if they throw it away after you leave.

The next thing is this, and don’t hang around, he has a job to do also, but you tell him look I am a good guy could you help me out and get me a ride tonight, I am one #1 in the taxi zone, I will leave my trunk open and wait for you, Hey thank you I would appreciate it a lot and I will take care of you, at that second you put your hand out for a hand shake, make them shake your hand, as I do and slide them the ten ($10,00) in that hand shake. Me I have a card and paper card holders that I use with my business card inside (for there friends and reliefs) to call my cell, but I see each and all of them in person with coffee and ten ($10.00) hand shake.
When I get back I will list a few things that might and will help you.
Dress code, clean shirt, crease in pants, clean shoes, if you have a doubt, look at other drivers that make money and have a great smile on there face.
Your change always in 2x, two different locations, $20.00 in pocket, $20.00 in a FAKE wallet, put large cash in the trunk and hide it period! Never put any thing that you want under your seat, it will be gone fast. Go ahead and put your money bag under your front seat, than jump in the back seat, and see if you see what I see. Don’t ever do that. And speaking of Monet if someone flips you a hundred late at night just say no I don’t have that kind of change, I just started, always all night long every night, you say this right up front, Hi my name is Sparky where are you going and do you have a preferred route I am going to take you (this way) I feel great, (listen now) you are my first ride tonight. Got it, if there bad perhaps knowing you don’t have any money yet will get you by, for one more night.
Clean Cab inside Clean Cab outside. Head rest down always for safety, you don’t want a wire or chain around your neck if it is up, Keep it down! Windows up except for 2 inches down for fresh air don’t get caught off guard with your door unlocked and window down. No smoking in the cab!
I have made more money, if you are allowed to do this, just pay for the gas and troll, travel around hot spots. Works for me, no down time at the airport 75 cabs ahead of me waiting for that tat, giant trip and tip! What if they go just to a hotel 2 miles away, and no tip, I don’t get it!
Well if you are not working you are not making any money. This has always been my trade mark, I drive a cab but I go where I want to go and when I want to go, leave me alone I pay my gate. I have always thought that I could D&W, drive and work and do better than a dispatcher could give me, and yes I know the pro and cons about it, I know I am not a company man ya right, see you at the bank every week after week, and I will have a great smile on my face, and lease or not, hourly employee or for hire I always will.
If you want to make more money, hustle more, don’t go where other cabs are, think beyond the box, build your company like it or not you are your own boss, and you are your worst enemy, change that.

Leave a Reply

